Apr 2016

Accepting Nominations For The Newcomer Entrepreneur Of The Year Awards

Posted By: Saskatoon Regional Economic Development Authority

The Saskatoon Regional Economic Development Authority (SREDA) is pleased to host a brand new event: the Newcomer Entrepreneur of the Year Awards (NEYA). This annual event will showcase small business owners who have journeyed through immigrating to Canada and have successfully launched and grown their business in the Saskatoon region. The finalists will be honoured at the NEYA Gala on June 6, 2016 in Saskatoon, SK.


In 2015, Statistics Canada reported that over 21 percent of small and medium sized businesses were owned by an entrepreneur born outside of Canada, with Saskatchewan having the fourth largest amount of newcomer entrepreneurs in the country. With over 27,500 immigrants in the Saskatoon region, it is important to recognize the contributions of these entrepreneurs to our local economy.


Through its Square One program, SREDA helps entrepreneurs across the region to establish and grow their business.


“At Square One, we work with a variety of entrepreneurs and see first-hand the drive and determination it takes to be successful,” said DonnaLyn Thorsteinson, Senior Director of SREDA’s Square One program. “NEYA is an opportunity to recognize and celebrate newcomer entrepreneurs who have successfully started their business in the Saskatoon region.”


NEYA nominees must demonstrate entrepreneurial excellence and can be nominated in one of four award categories:


Startup Award - For entrepreneurs operating a business for less than 3 years.


Growth Award - For entrepreneurs that can demonstrate business growth.


U39 Award - For entrepreneurs between 18-39 years old.


Connect Award - For entrepreneurs operating a business for over 5 years.


“Immigration is a key component to the Saskatoon region’s diverse and sustainable economy,” said Alex Fallon, President and CEO of SREDA. “NEYA is an opportunity for businesses, organizations and individuals to come together and celebrate the successes of newcomer entrepreneurs in the Saskatoon region.”


Nominations are now being accepted. The deadline for nominations is April 29, 2016. Award nomination forms and sponsorship information can be found at:


Leave a Comment:

Captcha Not readable? Change text.

Get the Guidance, Support and Mentorship you need

Contact Us

Saskatoon Office
108 - 502 Cope Way
Saskatoon, SK S7T 0G3
Toll-Free:1-844-900-WESK (9375)

Regina Office
100 - 1919 Rose Street
Regina, SK S4P 3P1 Toll-Free:1-844-901-WESK (9375)

Toll-free phone: 1-844-900-WESK (9375)
Business Hours: Monday - Friday 8:30 am - 5:00 pm
Web site:

Supported by/Avec l'appui de :

Copyright © 2017 - WOMEN ENTREPRENEURS OF SASKATCHEWAN. All Rights Reserved.
Website design by